5 Love Languages for Self-Love

You may have heard of the popular book 5 Love Languages, which outlines five general ways that romantic partners express and experience love, which by author Gary Chapman calls "love languages".

In romantic relationships noticing the 5 love languages is certainly helpful, but do you know you can apply the same principles for your own self-love too? The love we give ourselves in different ways, exploring how we can nurture ourselves in the right love language at the right time has huge benefits for our well-being.

Below we explore some ideas on how you can use the 5 love languages for your self-love and hope it will offer you some inspiration.

1. Words of Affirmation: Think Self-Love

    - Practice positive self-talk. Turn down the volume of your inner critic and choose to be your own cheerleader.

    - Journal your strengths and everything about you for which you are grateful. Document everything you accomplish, feel good about, do right, like about yourself, etc and do so regulatory to keep the momentum going.

    - Practice daily affirmations. We have explored the benefits of affirmations which you can visit on our previous blog

    - Mantras that encourage self-compassion. Bring your attention to being good to yourself.

    2. Acts of Service: Do Self-Love

      - Prepare healthy meals for yourself. Put thought and effort into grocery shopping and meal preparation.

      - Declutter, create an organised, clean and aesthetically pleasing home environment for yourself.

      - Take time for your skincare and body care rituals, groom yourself with love and attention. Put yourself together so that you feel like the beautiful person that you are.

      3. Receiving Gifts: Absorb Self-Love

        - Buy only what you love. Don’t allow things in your home and closet that don’t bring you positive vibrations, aka joy.

        - Invest in yourself. Gift yourself with knowledge. Invest in your learning and growth, whether that's a degree, a programme or a cooking class, follow which your heart desires the most.

        - Take a trip. Treat yourself to the wisdom and perspective gained from travel. Being surrounded by new environments and people gives us a fresh view and sometimes most needed pause.

        4. Quality Time: Be Present with Self-Love

          - Set aside time for daily mindfulness practices such as meditation, deep breathing or progressive muscle relaxation. They will help you connect with your higher self.

          - Make time for a passion project, your leisure and hobbies. Time for play and enjoyment is an important aspect of celebrating the gift of life.

          - Prioritise sleep and exercise. You must reboot and revitalise your physical being.

          Be mindful of not over-schedule, over-book or over-commit.

          5. Physical Touch: Feel Self-Love

          - Stretch your muscles with yoga and give yourself a massage with a foam roller. Relax into your body. Release toxins by taking a hot bath with Epsom salts. Release the stress and soak in the love.

          - Moisturise and massage your skin with high-quality skincare products, just like Timeless Elixir Facial Serum, intentionally formulated for nourishing your skin, mind and spirit. As you touch your skin, pause and reset, and give thanks and appreciation of yourself have taken the time to exercise self-love.

          - Give yourself a spa treatment: manicure, pedicure, facial, massage etc are all ways we can promote relaxation and wellbeing.


          Know you are worth extraordinary care. Self-love is a journey. It takes dedication, devotion, and practice. Resolve to love yourself each and every day and watch your best self blossom and your greatest life unfold! Self-love is an exponential force, and Peace & Pure is here together with you on this amazing journey.

          Sending you lots of love.

          Leave a comment

          All comments are moderated before being published